french press coffee

March 19, 2011

In the rush and go of the workweek routines are set and it becomes difficult to try something new.  First alarm goes off, go back to sleep for another hour.  Second alarm goes off, fill the coffeemaker, push the button, into the bathroom, pour the coffee, make lunch while eating breakfast, get dressed, etc.  Deviating from this daily schedule can lead to catastrophe (like that time I turned the coffeemaker on without the pot underneath because I didn’t have my glasses on yet and had forgotten it was still on the drying rack from the night before – oops).

Weekends are for trying out different things (or even for just trying things differently).  I had purchased a french press years ago at a home goods store’s going-out-of-business sale, but since I’d never used one before, it had been resigned to becoming a display item in my kitchen.  This morning, the first attempt at brewing coffee in a different way came out to wonderful results.  At this point in my life, I’m generally seeking caffeine content over flavour in the mornings and therefore I get by with the lesser quality coffees that are friendlier on my wallet.   However, since the filtering process in a french press involves a fine mesh and all the technology of a plunger, the results taste less like the coffee has been strained through a paper bag and the actual flavours of coffee aren’t stuck back with the grounds.

Another delicious experiment is to switch up how you take your coffee.  Instead of a vanilla flavored coffee creamer, this morning I opted to use brown sugar and whipping cream (left over from the chocolate ganache portion of the Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes) with delightful results.

Leave a Reply

