tuna crasserole

May 1, 2011

Some times you just have to fake it.

The tuna casserole my mom makes has been a favorite of mine for as long as I’ve been able to eat solid foods.  It was one of the first things I craved when I went away to university, the warm gooey mess that tastes just like home.

But when do I ever have cream of celery soup or bread crumbs on hand?   Or the 45 minutes it takes for the casserole to bake?  My dad turned me on to what he calls College Casserole, consisting of a can of tuna and a bowl of Kraft Easy Mac, but I always felt there was room for improvement.

Tuna Crasserole

  • 1 box Kraft Dinner, or comparable boxed mac and cheese (shells give a more homemade look)
  • 2-5 oz cans tuna
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • shredded cheese (a couple handfuls works for me)
  • ground black pepper, as you like

Fully prepare the mac as the box instructs.  Toss in a handful of shredded cheese and stir until melted in.  Cook the peas as the bag instructs.  Add the tuna, peas, pepper, and another handful of cheese.

Combine.  Serve.  Enjoy.

It won’t be as savory as Mom’s, but in 15 minutes you’ll have a pretty tasty knock-off.


Leave a Reply

